Get in where ya fit in….

The MyJaps x Team Manila Collaboration


By Degenerate

A lot of MyJaps supporters deserved to be in my place Wednesday morning. I can only hope I do them justice by sharing my experience.

Collaborate /kəˈlæbəɹeɪt/ verb
To work together with others to achieve a common goal.

KC sent me a text message on Tuesday. “Be at Hard Rock Cafe tomorrow 11 AM.” So I went.

I was met by a surprise. I could see that a press conference was just about to start inside. “Are you here for MyJaps?” asked the receptionist. I didn’t know what to say. I thought I was just meeting KC for lunch to discuss the opening of our wrestling school. I thought to myself: “I’m not here for MyJaps, but now that I’m here, I want to be here for MyJaps.” I told the receptionist that I’m supposed to meet KC, so they put my name on the list, gave me a gift bag and a nameplate.

The MyJaps x Team Manila presscon was just about to begin. It was a relaxed, family-gathering kind of atmosphere. It really was. Almost like a debut, but not one of those really snobbish and very formal debuts with cotillions and intimidating people. It had a “feel at home” vibe.

The presscon was for Julie Anne Peñaflorida San Jose (also known as MyJaps) and Team Manila‘s collaboration. These two awesome entities are collaborating and releasing the “My Japs Collection” this April.

Julie Anne, Team Manila co-founder Jowee Alviar and VANS Philippines CEO Wendell Cunanan Wendellvans were introduced to the press. The host took us down memory lane of MyJaps’ wonderful and young career.

Julie Anne and Team Manila explained the goals of their special collaboration. Aside from reflecting Julie Anne’s youthful and fun-loving personality in the release of the “My Japs Collection,” proceeds will go to the patients of the Philippine Children’s Medical Center. Now that’s SPREADING THE LOVE!

Q&A with the press

“Why MyJaps?” It was a nice question asked by someone that made some smile a little bit. Julie Anne simply explained to us that MyJaps is her Twitter handle.

Another one of the questions asked by the press was “why spread the love?” MyJaps explained that, believe it or not, she has haters. And instead of hating them back and dwelling on the negative, she decided to spread the love. (Seriously, how could anyone hate her?! Maybe those haters are PBA player Don Allado‘s haters and aren’t really MyJaps haters? Don Allado plays for Barako Bull and is the biggest MyJaps fan in the world, figuratively and literally.)

When asked about her plans this summer, MyJaps said she wants to spend some time at home. She’s doesn’t really go out much and she prefers to stay home and write songs for her fans and supporters.

Who made the logo/designs for “MyJaps Collection?” MyJaps did, with the assistance of Team Manila, of course.

Why orange (the logo)? Because orange is her favorite color.

MyJaps performed two songs for everyone in attendance. Her performance was so good that I forgot what I was eating (I think it was chicken). I stopped eating my lunch midway because she was playing and singing Sarah McLachlan’s “Angel.”

MyJaps performing Sarah McLachlan's "Angel"

After the presscon

MyJaps made a good impression off-camera/off-stage. There were these two young professionals posing for a picture when Julie Anne accidentally photobombed them. She got a little bit embarrassed and immediately apologized. Then they politely asked to take a picture with her. She did. She’s humble, down-to-earth.

I left Hard Rock Cafe in awe because I knew I just saw a very special, very gifted artist.

P.S. KC, please seat me beside Candy Magazine next time. So I can have female friends. I don’t have female friends in Manila yet.

Preview of MyJaps x Team Manila Collection

[UPDATE: These pictures are just the first of many. It primarily features the MyJaps logo. A very reliable source told me MyJaps and Team Manila are working on designs to be released next month. Keep visiting the site for updates.]

BONUS PHOTO:

MyJaps went straight to VANS where Wendellvans and Don Allado were waiting.

7 responses

  1. angela

    love this! ❤

    March 28, 2012 at 4:45 pm

  2. What can i say ;she’s really sweetheart and deserved everything.really awsome!!!!

    March 28, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  3. Trixie

    Thanks for this awesome blog post! Love MyJaps and will definitely support her collar with TeamManila!

    March 28, 2012 at 5:53 pm

  4. that’s our very humble @myjaps.. 🙂 thank your for sharing your experience..

    March 29, 2012 at 3:16 am

  5. Cool!

    March 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm

  6. Rain_Winks

    Julie’s a lovable person and she deserves everything that she has now. Thanks for sharing. Hope to read more about Julie on your blogs.

    By the way, please tell KC I wanna meet him. Just a hug from him would be a plus. Thanks. *imafan*

    March 29, 2012 at 6:28 pm

  7. librado2010

    how much is the T-shirt? please answer ASAP…

    April 7, 2012 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

